Friday, October 02, 2009

Finalists Announced!

Finalists were announced today for the 2009 Eileen Heckart Drama for Seniors Competition, hosted by the Jerome Lawrence and Robert E. Lee Theatre Research Institute at The Ohio State University. There were 510 plays submitted to the third competition. Winning plays, and first-runners-up, will receive staged readings at The Ohio State University during the 2009-2010 academic year. Winning writers are not required to attend.

Further information: 614/292-8238 (voice), 614/292-3222 (FAX),;

One act

Abrams, Tevia E. New York, New York Marge and Jack
Conlon, Richard P St. Charles, Illinois send forth thy mercies
Dubois, Katherine Boulder, Colo. Volunteer Work
Schutzman, Steven Baltimore, MD Tammy
Toohey, Rosemary Frisino Baltimore, MD Tilapia

Ten minute

Armour, Toby (Ms.) East Haven, Conn. Lifer
Chua, Damon Los Angeles, Calif. Dogs Are Evil
Steelsmith, Mary Los Angeles, Ca. Happy and Gay
Stewart, Douglas Santa Fe, NM Never Mind
Walker, Stephanie Allison Los Angeles, CA Melt

Full Length

Elliott, Paul Los Angeles, Calif. Exit Laughing
Orndorff, Elizabeth Danville, KY Aidan’s Gift
Sifford, R. Lawrence Washington, D.C. Murder in a Nursing Home
Spector, Donna Warwick, NY Not For the Ferryman
Traverse, Lans London, England Coleslaw and Coconut Cream Pie

The Eileen Heckart Drama for Seniors Competition honors Eileen Heckart (1919-2001), the distinguished American actress whose long career culminated in her stunning performance in Kenneth Lonergan's The Waverly Gallery (2000), for which she received the Drama Desk Award, Obie Award, and Outer Critics Circle Award. That same year she was awarded the Tony for lifetime achievement. She also was the recipient of an Academy Award (Butterflies Are Free), Golden Globe (The Bad Seed) and an Emmy (Save Me A Place at Forest Lawn). She was recognized with a Margo Jones Medal in 2000 for her long championing of new plays, having appeared in almost thirty world premiere productions. Ms. Heckart was a native of Bexley, Ohio, and an alumna of The Ohio State University.